The National Curriculum applies to pupils of compulsory school age in school. 

The curriculum is divided up as follows:
The Foundation Stage -  this is the curriculum followed by pupils in the Nursery and Reception years
Key Stage 1 curriculum - followed by pupils in Years 1 and 2 

The Foundation Stage
The Foundation stage has its own areas of study with 7 areas of learning:

  • Physical development
  • Personal, Social & Emotional development
  • Communication & Language
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Expressive Art & Design
  • Understanding the world

Parents' guide to the Foundation Stage

Key Stage 1 
The key stage 1 currculum includes the following subjects:

Religious Education (RE) is a statutory requirement for all pupils (except where parents request otherwise) and is taught according to our locally agreed syllabus.

We also teach PSHE (Personal, Social and Health Education) which is a non-statutory subject. Click on the link to find out more about our PSHE curriculum (including Relationship and Sex Education or RSE). 

Click on the subject names above to download our curriculum documents for each subject. Teachers use these to plan for and assess children's learning. Teachers ensure that the curriculum is accessible and appropriate for all children, including those with disabilities or special educational needs.

Teachers organise learning into topics and we also have whole school theme weeks which will be advertised on the weekly newsletters. 

If you would like to find out more about our curriculum, please speak to your child's class teacher, or contact the school office.